Evil Avatar  




Go Back   Evil Avatar > Daily Gaming News > News Items

» Sponsored Links


» Recent Threads
#GamerGate Happenings...
Last post by JazGalaxy
Today 02:14 PM
26 Replies, 2,233 Views
Buzz Aldrin's Space...
Last post by Emabulator
Today 02:12 PM
1 Replies, 2 Views
Xbox One Gets $50 Price...
Last post by Agnostic Pope
Today 02:12 PM
86 Replies, 4,856 Views
#GamerGate Happenings...
Last post by MusicToEat
Today 02:04 PM
140 Replies, 8,428 Views
Learn 3D Modelling, Free
Last post by Anenome
Today 01:57 PM
12 Replies, 1,678 Views
The Crew - Dev Diary:...
Last post by Emabulator
Today 01:45 PM
1 Replies, 65 Views
Mordheim: City of the...
Last post by Emabulator
Today 01:35 PM
0 Replies, 82 Views
Weekend Gamer: What are...
Last post by Kreigmstr
Today 01:16 PM
14 Replies, 450 Views
» Promotion


Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-24-2009, 10:37 PM   #21
Zetsuei
Evil Dead
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 462
Correction, Halo doesn't need to be in HD to be a mediocre game.
Zetsuei is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2009, 08:03 AM   #22
Zeal
Scumbag, Thief & Pirate
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,626
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zetsuei View Post
Correction, Halo doesn't need to be in HD to be a mediocre game.
your troll-fu is weak, old man.
Zeal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2009, 08:16 AM   #23
lost
Like a Dungeon Dragon
 
lost's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Glasgow, Scotland
Posts: 7,488
Blog Entries: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by ElfShotTheFood View Post
I thought Killzone 2 was a PS3 exclusive?
Pretty weak.
__________________
st/xb/ps/BabooYagoo
irc/#evilavatar
t/martin_perry
lost is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2009, 08:46 AM   #24
Syl
Evil Dead
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Corvallis, OR
Posts: 6,452
Blog Entries: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zeal View Post
so upconvert it to 1080p with your TV's scaler.

end.
I think you have an extreme misunderstanding of what "upconverting" does.
Syl is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2009, 09:51 AM   #25
Zeal
Scumbag, Thief & Pirate
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,626
Quote:
Originally Posted by Syl View Post
I think you have an extreme misunderstanding of what "upconverting" does.
yeah, i guess that's why i have a $5,000 60" native 1080p display right beside me.

you know as well as i that upconverting is not a true, native 1080p signal, but it doesn't affect how awesome the game already looks. what you probably don't realize is that neither the 360 or PS3 has the on-board memory available to do games like ODST in native 1080p/60 or even 30fps.

everyone on forums are know it alls, i swear.
Zeal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2009, 10:08 AM   #26
Johan
sub-$20 Gamer
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 11,918
Quote:
Originally Posted by sgtslappy View Post
This thread if filled with trolls.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Johan View Post
Is there one that isn't?
I see I've been proven wrong on this one.
Johan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2009, 11:17 AM   #27
Syl
Evil Dead
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Corvallis, OR
Posts: 6,452
Blog Entries: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zeal View Post
yeah, i guess that's why i have a $5,000 60" native 1080p display right beside me.

you know as well as i that upconverting is not a true, native 1080p signal, but it doesn't affect how awesome the game already looks. what you probably don't realize is that neither the 360 or PS3 has the on-board memory available to do games like ODST in native 1080p/60 or even 30fps.

everyone on forums are know it alls, i swear.
I'm very aware that the 360 and the PS3 don't have the poewr necessary to do a game like ODST in 1080p. They don't even have the power to do it in 720p, hence why this entire topic exists.

Upconverting is just pixel size resampling, it does not magically make the game run in 1080p, it's still running in 648p or whatever the hell it is and applies a few algorithms so that the pixel stretching isn't as obvious when it uses all the 1080p pixels.

You can upconvert from 480p, but the actual quality of the original doesn't improve at all - it's impossible. It reminds me of those shows where they somehow have infinite zoom on footage taken from a low quality security feed. The amount of pixels taken in the original cannot be improved, although it can be somewhat intelligently guessed.
Syl is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2009, 01:09 PM   #28
Primus
Valar Morghulis
 
Primus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Fairfax Ruins
Posts: 2,140
Non-issue for the majority.
__________________
XBL: Primus DCE

PSN: Leper DCE
Primus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2009, 12:14 AM   #29
Chaos Machine
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Magic PC Land
Posts: 628
Quote:
Originally Posted by Syl View Post
I'm very aware that the 360 and the PS3 don't have the poewr necessary to do a game like ODST in 1080p. They don't even have the power to do it in 720p, hence why this entire topic exists.

Upconverting is just pixel size resampling, it does not magically make the game run in 1080p, it's still running in 648p or whatever the hell it is and applies a few algorithms so that the pixel stretching isn't as obvious when it uses all the 1080p pixels.

You can upconvert from 480p, but the actual quality of the original doesn't improve at all - it's impossible. It reminds me of those shows where they somehow have infinite zoom on footage taken from a low quality security feed. The amount of pixels taken in the original cannot be improved, although it can be somewhat intelligently guessed.
exactly, you cant create detail where it doesnt exist, in the case up upscaling the picture would look "soft" or "fuzzy" instead of god awful pixellated.
Chaos Machine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2009, 06:55 AM   #30
lost
Like a Dungeon Dragon
 
lost's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Glasgow, Scotland
Posts: 7,488
Blog Entries: 2
You know I think my issue with this is more with Microsoft.

Yes Bungie are an 'independent' entity now but Microsoft has a massive input into this title. Every electronics company bar Nintendo is selling this 'HD is worth it' line. A Microsoft published title that doesn't support it just makes the whole situation seem like a con.

The same goes for the Blu-rays that run in 576p. Bangkok Dangerous as an example.
__________________
st/xb/ps/BabooYagoo
irc/#evilavatar
t/martin_perry
lost is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2009, 07:01 AM   #31
brandonjclark
Subscriber
 
brandonjclark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 6,897
Quote:
Originally Posted by lost View Post
You know I think my issue with this is more with Microsoft.

Yes Bungie are an 'independent' entity now but Microsoft has a massive input into this title. Every electronics company bar Nintendo is selling this 'HD is worth it' line. A Microsoft published title that doesn't support it just makes the whole situation seem like a con.

The same goes for the Blu-rays that run in 576p. Bangkok Dangerous as an example.
Yeah, isn't the "next-gen" gaming HD crap supposed to be big for MS?
__________________
~B$
Gamertag: legisilverback | Steam Nickname: brandonjclark
...playing Firefall
brandonjclark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2009, 07:32 AM   #32
Meusli
Subscriber
 
Meusli's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: England
Posts: 3,172
Yeah, Sony is guilty of this as well. They said every game would run in 1080p on their console because it was the second coming of Jesus.
__________________
Steam ID: NEDKIL™ Meusli
Gamertag: Meusli
Last Fm
Meusli is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2009, 09:43 PM   #33
the soUL TRAder
Evil Dead
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Detroit
Posts: 852
This might be true but is completely meaningless since having large environments, fast gameplay and smooth MP is what Halo is about, rather than being about a highly textured and detail environment (since the environment is complete fiction).

What is also true is that the fanboism in this thread, from at least three sides, is being broadcast in a million80p.
__________________
Absolute truth hurts, absolutely!
the soUL TRAder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2009, 09:26 AM   #34
BloodPack
Soul Reaper
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 210
I guess everyone has forgotten that Halo 3 was at this same resolution, and no one knew till Bungie said so. So all you dumbasses that think you can tell the difference, please sit the fuck back down.
BloodPack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2009, 09:29 AM   #35
PopoWRX
Oghren's Drinking Buddy
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Grand Prairie, Texas
Posts: 1,171
Quote:
Originally Posted by the soUL TRAder View Post
This might be true but is completely meaningless since having large environments, fast gameplay and smooth MP is what Halo is about, rather than being about a highly textured and detail environment (since the environment is complete fiction).

What is also true is that the fanboism in this thread, from at least three sides, is being broadcast in a million80p.
Oops! Someone just leveled the playing field!
PopoWRX is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:21 PM.