Evil Dead

[Live Interview] Randy Smith - Thief series - Part 2

A Look Into the Future of Stealth With Randy Smith
6/18/2006
Jonathan S. "Liquidize105"

Randy: Hi Jonathan, what's up?

Jonathan: What’s happening, how's work?

Randy: Good, good.

Jonathan: Doug Church, Steven Spielberg, you; what are you fellows making?

Randy: Heh. As if.

Can't talk about my current project AT ALL, sorry.
Jonathan: That's okay. Let's talk about this year's E3 and the evolution of stealth games.

Jonathan: Did you see the new Splinter Cell (Double Agent) or Assassin's Creed?

Randy: I saw Assassin's Creed, didn't see Splinter Cell. I worked for a couple months in the office where both of those games are made.

Jonathan: What did you do there?

Randy: I was a design consultant on another project, Open Season, which will be released this fall. It was at E3 as well.

Jonathan: Hmm, doesn't ring a bell, what is it?

Randy: It's a children's game based on an animated feature film by Sony Pictures. You play a bear named Boog who has a sidekick deer named Elliott. You sneak up on hunters and scare them.

Jonathan: Cute

So what do you think? Stealth is abandoning the shadows and coming into the light.

Randy: Stealth gameplay is certainly being interpreted in lots of new ways, which is cool. A lot of them involve more immediate, action-y gameplay, such as Assassin's Creed's emphasis on disguise and movement; seems like good evolution to me.

Obviously, I would hate to lose the slow-paced strategic avoidance like in the Thief series, but I think it's great that stealth can mean many different things.

Jonathan: Social stealth they call it, very exciting prospect.

Randy: Yup

Jonathan: You know, originally I figured it would hit a higher plateau first before unraveling into other forms.

Randy: Maybe this is part of the route towards hitting a higher plateau.