Old 06-14-2006, 08:40 PM   #1
Liquidize105
Evil Dead

[Live Interview] Randy Smith - Thief series - Part 1

A Look Back on Thief With Randy Smith: Programmer, Designer, Project Director
Date: 6/14/2006
By: Jonathan S. "Liquidize105"

Randy: Hi

Jonathan: Hey Randy, thanks for joining me today. There's a ton of stuff I'd like to talk about, so let's start from the top.
Jonathan: Please, briefly introduce yourself.

Randy: Hi, I'm Randy Smith, game designer.

I'm a 5' 10" 31 y.o. Gemini, interested in the cheeses of the world. I worked on Thief 1, 2, and then for a change I worked on Thief 3.

I was a freelance consultant on various projects for a couple of years, and more recently I took a full time job working with Doug Church's team on a Steven Spielberg project here at EALA.
Jonathan: How did you get your start in this industry?

Randy: I went to college for computer science with the hope of working on games, assuming being a rock star didn't work out, which, arguably, it didn't.

My first job was at Looking Glass Studios in Cambridge, MA, as a hybrid scripter/level-builder on Thief: The Dark Project.
Jonathan: How would you describe the first Thief game?

Randy: Top level pitch - Thief: DP is an intense action stealth game in which the player takes on the role of master thief Garrett as he sneaks and steals his way through a dark and mysterious story set in a gloomy variation of Medieval Europe.

Jonathan: Action? But it was a passive stealth game.

Randy: It isn't action gameplay in the sense of full-bore running and clearing out rooms full of guys with automatic weapons, but it is action gameplay in the sense of the player must take action to accomplish things, and it isn't turn-based, there is real time pressure. It is less actiony in the sense of the player having lots of control over the pacing of the game, down to a very slow level.