Evil Avatar  




Go Back   Evil Avatar > Daily Gaming News > News Items

» Sponsored Links


» Recent Threads
Project CARS - The...
Last post by Marticus
Today 10:46 PM
4 Replies, 282 Views
CPU cooling question
Last post by Syl
Today 10:36 PM
10 Replies, 199 Views
Amazon to air HBO...
Last post by drakkarim
Today 09:47 PM
15 Replies, 495 Views
The Elder Scrolls Online...
Last post by Transylmania
Today 09:39 PM
9 Replies, 490 Views
Godzilla - Nature Has An...
Last post by Anenome
Today 09:33 PM
29 Replies, 2,294 Views
Sin City: A Dame To Kill...
Last post by JazGalaxy
Today 08:14 PM
7 Replies, 566 Views
Official Skylanders Trap...
Last post by Mr Rogers
Today 08:01 PM
4 Replies, 262 Views
Batman Arkham Origins -...
Last post by PSPfreak
Today 07:54 PM
8 Replies, 693 Views
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 12-13-2008, 07:13 AM   #1
modeps
Get busy living.
 
modeps's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Zihuatanejo
Posts: 11,960
Blog Entries: 7
Steam Beta Update Adds In-Game Browser

Looks as though Rogue already has some competition, and its big... Valve has released a beta version of Steam that allows for web browsing from their in-game interface.

Quote:
There's a new Steam Beta client available. To access the Beta, go to File -> Settings, and on the Account tab will be a drop down. Select Steam Client Candidate, and then allow Steam to restart itself. Here are the specific changes:

- Updated game overlay web browser to support generic web browsing, including web sites that use flash
- Fixed games list scrolling behavior with pageup/pagedown and mouse wheel
- Many back-end Steamworks changes in preparation for a Steamworks SDK update
Thanks VE3D.

It was nice to know you Rogue.
modeps is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2008, 07:16 AM   #2
BloodPack
Soul Reaper
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 210
I gave Rogue a shot, but it seemed like it was designed more for MMO's than steam games
BloodPack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2008, 07:47 AM   #3
MusicToEat
Soul Reaper
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 206
I tried Rogue too. It added significant lag to WoW for me. I can run other browsers in the background with no problem so I was a little surprised. Needless to say, I've since uninstalled it.
MusicToEat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2008, 08:03 AM   #4
Johan
sub-$20 Gamer
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 11,918
I just tried Rogue several times and each time, it crashed/froze Oblivion on me. I have a bit of an older computer, and it just can't handle it, I guess. Oh well.

Back to Oblivion!
Johan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2008, 08:56 AM   #5
Mr.Green
Always greener
 
Mr.Green's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: QC, Canada
Posts: 2,573
If you need to browse the web in-game, maybe it's time to find a new game.
__________________
Xbox Live: MrGreen
PSN: MrGreenPSN
Wii: 4859 2... oh fuck it.
Mr.Green is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2008, 09:00 AM   #6
Johan
sub-$20 Gamer
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 11,918
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr.Green View Post
If you need to browse the web in-game, maybe it's time to find a new game.
I'm playing the game of life, and I'm browsing the web in-game. Should I just stop? I'm not sure I like that idea!
Johan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2008, 12:09 PM   #7
Syl
Evil Dead
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Clemson, SC
Posts: 6,102
Blog Entries: 1
This is part of the reason why having multiple monitors is so wonderful. I have the game open on one (full screen!) internet open on the other. No weird game overlays, no hotkeys to use the internet except for maybe alt+tab. Both the game and the browser function exactly as they would otherwise.
Syl is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2008, 12:27 PM   #8
Nighthawk
Evil Dead
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 281
This is why I like having a laptop and desktop. I can surf, chat, etc. on the laptop while gaming on the desktop.

Truthfully though, when your playing FPS games like TF2, you ain't got time to bother with the intarwebs.
Nighthawk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2008, 01:03 PM   #9
ZephidsEmbrace
Evil Dead
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 431
I hope this one's better than Rogue. Rogue sucked, made Wow unplayable just to have it running in the background. Somehow, running an overlay browser in the background cut my FPS in half and it was uninstalled within 30 minutes of being installed.

Crossing my fingers.
ZephidsEmbrace is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2008, 08:28 AM   #10
sgtslappy
Subscriber
 
sgtslappy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Irving, Texas
Posts: 973
The browser is alright. If you don't know how to bring it up, just hit shift + tab (default) and select web.

I can't seem to open up my GMail account but everywhere else seems tow work fine.
sgtslappy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2008, 03:21 PM   #11
Chimpbot
King Ghidorah
 
Chimpbot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Third Planet of the Black Hole
Posts: 3,538
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr.Green View Post
If you need to browse the web in-game, maybe it's time to find a new game.
Rogue was designed more for MMOs, where having a brower open is almost necessary at times.

Whether you're trying to easily keep track of what mats you need to craft an item, see where you need to go to take out an elusive quest mob or quickly skim boss strats before a pull, there's a ton of information available on the net essential to games like WoW.

It seems like Valve is doing it just to prove they can do it better. It's not necessary at all for games like TF2...but then again, Steam doesn't just have Valve's FPS library on it anymore. There are plenty of RPGs and whatnot where the player can certainly benefit from having an easily accessible browser.
__________________
Evil Avatar's Senior Godzillaologist
Chimpbot is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:58 PM.