Evil Avatar  




Go Back   Evil Avatar > Daily Gaming News > News Items

» Sponsored Links


» Recent Threads
The Last of Us...
Last post by Agnostic Pope
Today 09:41 AM
4 Replies, 88 Views
METAL JESUS ROCKS!: All...
Last post by Agnostic Pope
Today 09:40 AM
34 Replies, 789 Views
Loki, Ronan and the...
Last post by ElektroDragon
Today 09:02 AM
8 Replies, 603 Views
The Hunger Games:...
Last post by JazGalaxy
Today 08:57 AM
4 Replies, 445 Views
The Hobbit: The Battle...
Last post by Blackwing
Today 08:56 AM
15 Replies, 1,164 Views
August Games with Gold...
Last post by rubbishfoo
Today 08:28 AM
14 Replies, 623 Views
Mad Max: Fury Road...
Last post by Grast5150
Today 08:21 AM
30 Replies, 1,958 Views
LEGO Batman 3: Beyond...
Last post by Grast5150
Today 08:16 AM
3 Replies, 429 Views
» Promotion


Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-22-2008, 12:40 PM   #1
Telefrog
Natural 20's only!
 
Telefrog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Lakewood, WA
Posts: 4,918
Assassin's Creed PC Requirements

Ubisoft has quietly published the PC requirements for Assassin's Creed on their support site. (Login required.) Here's the breakdown for the interested:

Quote:
Supported OS: Windows XP / Vista (only)

Processor: Dual core processor 2.6 GHz Intel Pentium D or AMD Athlon 64 X2 3800+ (Intel Core 2 Duo 2.2 GHz or AMD Athlon 64 X2 4400+ or better recommended)

RAM: 2 GB (3 GB recommended)

Video Card: 256 MB DirectX 10.0–compliant video card or DirectX 9.0–compliant card with Shader Model 3.0 or higher (512 MB video card recommended) (see supported list)*

Sound Card: DirectX 9.0 or 10.0 compliant sound card (5.1 sound card recommended)

DirectX Version: DirectX 10.0 libraries (included on disc)

DVD-ROM: DVD-ROM dual-layer drive

Hard Drive Space: 12 GB

Peripherals Supported: Keyboard, mouse, optional controller (Xbox 360 Controller for Windows recommended)

*Supported Video Cards at Time of Release:
ATI RADEON X1300-1950 / HD 2000 / 3000 series
NVIDIA GeForce 6600-6800 / 7 / 8 / 9 series

Laptop versions of these cards may work but are NOT supported. These chipsets are the only ones that will run this game.

NOTICE: This game contains technology intended to prevent copying that may conflict with some disc and virtual drives.
Crysis be damned! I especially like the warning in the last sentence.
Telefrog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2008, 12:53 PM   #2
Deadend
Evil Dead
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 5,431
wow.. 12gb installer. They must have alot of LOD texture packs.
Deadend is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2008, 12:56 PM   #3
Banacek
The Α and the Ω
 
Banacek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: SoCal
Posts: 2,735
Jesus, I'll just stick with the 360 version. When I get a chance to play it, that is.
__________________
Death to captcha
Banacek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2008, 12:57 PM   #4
UnderHero5
Evil Dead
 
UnderHero5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: New York State
Posts: 2,436
Man, I know HDD's are cheap as hell these days, but a 12 gig install for a single game?...
I'll pass.

That's one way to fight piracy. Make your games too large and too demanding to bother with.

Oh wait, that will just make no one bother with it. Nevermind.
__________________
-=Evildoers Beware=-
UnderHero5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2008, 12:58 PM   #5
mastergeo7
Evil Dead
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Colombia, South America
Posts: 208
WTF!?

And we tough Crysis was step... this POS is ridiculous.
__________________
Never Let them Die!
www.immortalmachines.com
mastergeo7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2008, 01:00 PM   #6
Disgustipated
Banned
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Southern Cali
Posts: 7,353
I want this just to see how my 8800GT will handle it.
Disgustipated is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2008, 01:01 PM   #7
PathMaster
Robot Chlamydia
 
PathMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Adirondacks
Posts: 1,467
Still waiting for a 360 demo of the game.
PathMaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2008, 01:02 PM   #8
Telefrog
Natural 20's only!
 
Telefrog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Lakewood, WA
Posts: 4,918
I know the 3GB of RAM is for the Vista overhead, but why not just go all the way and say "4GB RAM recommended" instead?
__________________
Congratulations. You're boned.
GamerTag: Telefrog
ZuneCard: Telefrog
Telefrog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2008, 01:03 PM   #9
iHap
Unbanned
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 1,194
Nice to see they finally released the Req. Though My computer is just meeting and under the requirements. Bugger.
iHap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2008, 01:05 PM   #10
Sensei-X
Evil Dead
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 1,260
Quote:
NOTICE: This game contains technology intended to prevent copying that may conflict with some disc and virtual drives.
Been there done that, 3 times is my limit Ubisoft, you and your bullshit copy protection can rot in hell. For me XIII was the PC game that made me wonder why I even bothered buying their worthless crap on PC, 2 weeks after the game released the pirates had a improvised DVD version of the game, with no copy protection, that didn't require disc swap, nor did it require a disc in the drive, while me and lots of other people at that point were just beginning to get the runaround from Ubisoft about why the game we purchased from them kept crashing to desktop.
__________________
"You shutup, and it wouldn't hurt my feelings if you died or if your mother was eaten by a bear or something." - TheFlyingOrc
Sensei-X is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2008, 01:09 PM   #11
UnderHero5
Evil Dead
 
UnderHero5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: New York State
Posts: 2,436
Quote:
Originally Posted by PathMaster View Post
Still waiting for a 360 demo of the game.
They said they aren't making one, so you may be waiting a while.
__________________
-=Evildoers Beware=-
UnderHero5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2008, 01:14 PM   #12
Banacek
The Α and the Ω
 
Banacek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: SoCal
Posts: 2,735
Quote:
Originally Posted by UnderHero5 View Post
They said they aren't making one, so you may be waiting a while.
No demo? No purchase. I've heard too many things about this game to buy it cold.
__________________
Death to captcha
Banacek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2008, 01:14 PM   #13
Deadend
Evil Dead
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 5,431
Quote:
Originally Posted by PathMaster View Post
Still waiting for a 360 demo of the game.
Blockbuster. The way the game is structured, they would need to do create new content for the demo, or it would be a HUGE demo file.
Deadend is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2008, 01:16 PM   #14
GigaFuzz
I <3 magic....
 
GigaFuzz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,465
I'm glad I bought this for my 360. The memory requirement is what sticks out to me. How many other games state 2 Gig as a miminum?

Edit: 12 Gigs is a lot of HDD space, but not so surprising. Two games on the stack in front of me have 10 and 11 Gigs (Stalker and Medieval 2 (which comes on 2 DVDs) respectively) as minimum reqs.
GigaFuzz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2008, 01:18 PM   #15
iHap
Unbanned
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 1,194
Quote:
Originally Posted by GigaFuzz View Post
I'm glad I bought this for my 360. The memory requirement is what sticks out to me. How many other games state 2 Gig as a miminum?
Stranglehold
iHap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2008, 01:21 PM   #16
GigaFuzz
I <3 magic....
 
GigaFuzz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,465
Quote:
Originally Posted by iHap View Post
Stranglehold
Another 360/PS3 -> PC port. Coincidence?
GigaFuzz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2008, 01:22 PM   #17
UnderHero5
Evil Dead
 
UnderHero5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: New York State
Posts: 2,436
Quote:
Originally Posted by Deadend View Post
Blockbuster. The way the game is structured, they would need to do create new content for the demo, or it would be a HUGE demo file.
Well, they could just stick the first city in the demo, and let you run around that with a time limit. The Crackdown demo comes to mind. It's a huge open world sandbox game, just like AC, and it had a great demo. They just sectioned off part of the world. Seems like that would be even easier with AC, since the cities are already separate. Just put the player inside the city walls, and close the door. Or use the force field type of walls that are already in the full game (before you gain full access to an area).

I think they are just lazy, heh.

I played the game at my friends house, but not long enough to know whether I wanted it or not. He won't let me borrow it, though, to find out, the bastard (I hope he reads this).
__________________
-=Evildoers Beware=-
UnderHero5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2008, 01:28 PM   #18
iHap
Unbanned
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 1,194
Quote:
Originally Posted by GigaFuzz View Post
Another 360/PS3 -> PC port. Coincidence?
It's funny how console games are created on a PC, then ported for Console's then ported back onto the PC.
iHap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2008, 01:28 PM   #19
Speed_D
Dread Lord
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 135
Quote:
that will just make no one bother with it
Don't count on it. A cracked version will be available in less time than it took them to print that warning.
Speed_D is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2008, 01:33 PM   #20
Steve_Erhardt
Pancake Rabbit
 
Steve_Erhardt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,491
Let me get this straight... this game, which runs on the 360 with a paltry 512 megs of RAM, requires 2 fucking Gigs on a PC? 3 fucking Gigs recommended?

Telefrog touched on a good point... the PC is running more background shit than the 360, but still, this is just ridiculous. I'm fortunate enough to have a rig that should manhandle this game quite nicely, but horsepower on hand or not, these specs are pure comedy.
Steve_Erhardt is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:50 AM.